Frank Hatchett - Sensational - Vinyl Record

Frank Hatchett - Sensational

LABEL:   Telephone Explosion

ARTISTS: Frank Hatchett
RELEASE DATE: 2021-11-26
FORMAT: 2 x 12" Vinyl

Sensational – that’s Frank Hatchett! These words can be found on many of the 16 albums credited to the legendary NYC jazz dancer, choreographer, and teacher to the stars - Madonna, Brooke Shields, Olivia Newton-John, and Naomi Cambell.

In the highlights compiled on this expansive double LP set, the sounds of Hatchett’s albums run the gamut from disco and funk in the 1970s to electro and proto-techno as they glide through the ’80s. Most tracks clock in at a brisk 2:30 – the ideal length for Hatchett’s classes or his students’ recital performances. Fans of library music will find a similar focus on immaculate performances, while the tightly coiled drum breaks, Afro-Cuban rhythms, and thumping 808s will send rare groove collectors into a state of head nodding bliss.

Hatchett’s name and photos may appear on the sleeves of his records like Dance Crazy, Jazz Power, or Vop Style, but he is nowhere to be found in the music contained within. Instead, these albums dating back to 1974 were recorded by studio players under the guidance of musical director Don Tipton or arranger Zane Mark. Performers include: keyboardist Fred McFarlane (Madonna, Keith Sweat, Evelyn “Champagne” King), drummer Bernard Davis (Steve Winwood, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Kool & The Gang).


1. “6/8” - From Galaxy
2. “Which Way Is Up” written by Starguard - from Galaxy
3. “Rainforest” written by Paul Hardcastle - from Vop Style
4. “For The Love In You” written by Shalamar - from Body Shots
5. “C.C.D” - from Jazz Technique
6. “Dance Crazy” - From Dance Crazy
7. “Just Dance” - from video / tape cassette
8. “Holly Rock” written by Prince - from Dance Crazy
9. “Break Out” - from I’ve Got It
10. “Getaway” written by Salsoul Orchestra - from Get Up And Dance
11. “Wishing On A Star” written by Rose Royce - from Galaxy
12. “Sam’s Tune” - from Body Shots
13. “Malibu Nites” - from video / tape cassette
14. “Music Is The Answer” - Dance Crazy
15. “A Message From Kenya” - from Afro-Cuban Drums (Jungle Drums Vol 2)
16. “Shamballa” - from Body Shots
17. “We Supply” written by Stanley Clarke - from Taking Off
18. “The Men” from Spirit Free And New Horizons
19. “Flashy Super Groove”- from Galaxy
20. “Stratus” written by Billy Cobham - from Soul Jazz
21. “Oh Yes” - from Vop Style
22. “Inspiration” - from video / tape cassette

Music Player. Now Playing:

Add to cart popup - Vinyl Record added to cart

Add to cart