Lonnie Liston Smith - Astral Traveling - Artists Lonnie Liston Smith Genre Jazz Release Date February 11, 2022 Cat No. RLGM13391PMI Format 12" Vinyl - Real Gone Music - Real Gone Music - Real Gone Music - Lonnie Liston Smith - Astral Traveling - Real Gone - Vinyl Record

Lonnie Liston Smith - Astral Traveling

LABEL:   Real Gone Music

ARTISTS: Lonnie Liston Smith
RELEASE DATE: 2022-02-11
FORMAT: 12" Vinyl

For his 1973 debut album as a bandleader, Lonnie Liston Smith assembled a killer band of Cecil McBee on bass, George Barron on sax, James Mtume and Sonny Morgan on percussion, David Lee, Jr. on drums, Badal Roy on table, Geeta Vashi on tamboura, and Joe Beck on guitar. Such a multifaceted ensemble was perfectly suited to explore the spiritual jazz that Smith had encountered while playing with Pharoah Sanders ("Let Us Go into the House of the Lord" appears here and on Sanders' 1970 album Summun Bukmun Umyun which featured Smith), all presided over by Flying Dutchman label owner and former John Coltrane producer Bob Thiele. We've re-created the original gatefold artwork with Nat Hentoff's liner notes…one of the great jazz albums of its era!

Music Player. Now Playing:

Add to cart popup - Vinyl Record added to cart

Add to cart